Key Dates | The Transfer Test
Follow us on Facebook

Information & Help with the Northern Ireland Transfer Test

Key Dates

The Northern Ireland Transfer Test Key Dates

Revision Booklets and AQE & GL Practice Papers & are available to buy from our website shop.

VISIT SHOP

Key Dates 2018/19

Below are the AQE (CEA) & the PPTC (GL Assessment) dates for the 2018/19 cycle.

Please note that the PPTC have yet to announce any GL Assessment dates. All PPTC dates below are based on the assumption that they will fall on the same dates as previous years.

Registration Opens

Wednesday 2nd May 2018: AQE Registration Opens
Monday 14th May 2018: PPTC (GL Assessment) Registration Opens (to be confirmed)

Registration Closes

Friday 7th Sep 2018: AQE Registration Closes
Friday 21st Sep 2018: PPTC (GL Assessment) Registration Closes (2pm) (to be confirmed)

Assessment Dates

Saturday 10th Nov 2018: AQE (CEA) 1st Paper
Saturday 17th Nov 2018: GL Assessment (to be confirmed)
Saturday 24th Nov 2018: AQE (CEA) 2nd Paper
Saturday 1st Dec 2018: AQE (CEA) 3rd Paper
Saturday 8th Dec 2018: GL Supplementary Entrance Assessment (to be confirmed)

Results

Saturday 26th Jan 2019: AQE (CEA) results arrive at children’s homes
Saturday 26th Jan 2019: GL Assessment results arrive at children’s homes


Key Dates 2017/18

Below are the AQE (CEA) & the PPTC (GL Assessment) dates for the 2017/18 cycle.
AQE - 2017/18 Key Dates & Deadlines (pdf)
PPTC (GL) - 2017/18 Timetable (pdf)

Registration Opens

Tuesday 2nd May 2017: AQE Registration Opens
Monday 15th May 2017: PPTC (GL Assessment) Registration Opens

Registration Closes

Friday 8th Sep 2017: AQE Registration Closes
Friday 22nd Sep 2017: PPTC (GL Assessment) Registration Closes (2pm)

Assessment Dates

Saturday 11th Nov 2017: AQE (CEA) 1st Paper
Saturday 18th Nov 2017: GL Assessments
Saturday 25th Nov 2017: AQE (CEA) 2nd Paper
Saturday 2nd Dec 2017: AQE (CEA) 3rd Paper
Saturday 9th Dec 2017: GL Supplementary Entrance Assessment

Results

Saturday 27th Jan 2018: AQE (CEA) results arrive at children’s homes
Saturday 27th Jan 2018: GL Assessment results arrive at children’s homes
AQE & GL results letters will be posted 1st class on Friday 26th of January and should arrive the next day (Saturday 27th Jan). Parents worried about late post may wish to contact the Post Office to make alternative arrangements.

Remarking

Monday 12th Feb 2018: AQE (CEA) re-mark application form submission deadline.
Friday 9th Feb 2018: GL Assessment (GL) re-mark requests deadline (2pm).
Feb/Mar 2018: AQE Assessment (CEA) re-mark results.

Pupils apply to Schools

Feb/March 2018: Primary principals will hold meetings with parents and complete Transfer Forms for post-primary education. Transfer Forms will be sent to the Education Authority.

School Allocation

May/June 2018 - Parents are informed by the Education Authority which school that their child has been allocated to.